Best Paper Award

Congratulations to the authors of paper Accelerating GNN Training with Locality-Aware Partial Execution. Authors of this paper: Taehyun Kim (KAIST, Microsoft Research), KyoungSoo Park, Changho Hwang (KAIST), Peng Cheng, Youshan Miao, Lingxiao Ma (Microsoft Research), Zhiqi Lin (USTC, Microsoft Research), and Yongqiang Xiong (Microsoft Research).

Programs (Hong Kong time zone, i.e., GMT+8)

Day 1 (August 24)

8:45 - 9:00: Opening remarks

9:00 - 10:00: Keynote 1

Title: Towards (Sub-)Millisecond Serverless Computing: Characterization, Optimization and Outlooking

Speaker: Haibo Chen (Distinguished Professor at School of Software, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

10:00 - 10:15: Break

10:15 - 11:35: Session 1: Storage (Chair: Samer Al-Kiswany, University of Waterloo)

Towards User-Defined SLA in Cloud Flash Storage
Jinhao Fan, Ziyue Yang, Ran Shu, Peng Cheng, and Yongqiang Xiong (Microsoft Research)

FlashEmbedding: Storing Embedding Tables in SSD for Large-Scale Recommender Systems
Hu Wan, Xuan Sun, Yufei Cui (City University of Hong Kong), Chia-Lin Yang (National Taiwan University), Tei-Wei Kuo, and Chun Jason Xue (City University of Hong Kong)

C2J: Compulsory Compound Transaction for Journaling File System
Kyoungho Koo, Joontaek Oh, Kwangwon Min, Youngjin Kwon, and Youjip Won (KAIST)

Lightweight Data Lifetime Classification using Migration Counts to Improve Performance and Lifetime of Flash-based SSDs
Hyunseung Park, Eunjae Lee (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology), Jaeho Kim (Gyeongsang National University), and Sam H. Noh (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)

11:35 - 12:30: Lunch

12:30 - 13:30: Session 2: Sys-AI (Chair: Panos Kalnis, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology)

Accelerating GNN Training with Locality-Aware Partial Execution
Taehyun Kim (KAIST, Microsoft Research), KyoungSoo Park, Changho Hwang (KAIST), Peng Cheng, Youshan Miao, Lingxiao Ma (Microsoft Research), Zhiqi Lin (USTC, Microsoft Research), and Yongqiang Xiong (Microsoft Research)

Building Verified Neural Networks with Specifications for Systems
Cheng Tan, Yibo Zhu, and Chuanxiong Guo (ByteDance Inc.)

SmartOS: Towards Automated Learning and User-Adaptive Resource Allocation in Operating Systems
Sepideh Goodarzy, Maziyar Nazari (University of Colorado, Boulder), Richard Han (Macquarie University), Eric Keller, and Eric Rozner (University of Colorado, Boulder)

13:30 - 13:45: Quick break

13:45 - 14:25: Session 3: New hardware (Chair: Cheng Li, University of Science and Technology of China)

Offloading Load Balancers using SmartNICs
Tianyi Cui (University of Washington), Wei Zhang (Microsoft), Kaiyuan Zhang, and Arvind Krishnamurthy (University of Washington)

Rethinking Remote Memory Placement on Large-Memory Systems with Path Diversity
Wonkyo Choe, Sang-Hoon Kim, and Jeongseob Ahn (Ajou University)

Day 2 (August 25)

9:00 - 10:00: Keynote 2

Title: Reliability and Usage Characteristics of Flash-Based Storage in Production Systems

Speaker: Bianca Schroeder (Professor at University of Toronto, Canada)

10:00- 10:15: Break

10:15 - 11:35: Session 4: Cloud/datacenter/edge (Chair: Aishwarya Ganesan, VMware)

DiLOS: Adding Performance to Paging-based Memory Disaggregation
Wonsup Yoon, Jinyoung Oh, Jisu Ok, Sue Moon, and Youngjin Kwon (KAIST)

Coalescent Computing
Kyle Hale (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Lessons Learned from Migrating Complex Stateful Applications onto Serverless Platforms
Zewen Jin, Yiming Zhu, Jiaan Zhu, Dongbo Yu, Cheng Li (University of Science and Technology of China), Ruichuan Chen, Istemi Ekin Akkus (Nokia Bell Labs), Yinlong Xu (University of Science and Technology of China)

Persistent Memory Aware Performance Isolation with Dicio
Jinyoung Oh and Youngjin Kwon (KAIST)

11:35 - 12:30 : Lunch break

12:30 - 13:30: Session 5: OS (Chair: Shuaiwen Leo Song, University of Sydney)

Micro-CLK: Returning to the asynchronicity with Communication-Less Microkernel
Yauhen Klimiankou (Institute for System Programming, Russian Academy of Sciences)

Wayfinder: Towards Automatically Deriving Optimal OS Configurations
Alexander Jung (Lancaster University), Hugo Lefeuvre (The University of Manchester), Charalampos Rotsos (Lancaster University), Pierre Olivier (The University of Manchester), Felipe Huici, Mathias Niepert, and Daniel Oñoro (NEC Laboratories Europe GmbH)

FTSD: A Fissionable Lock for Multicores
zhengming yi, yiping yao, and Kai Chen (National University of Defense Technology)

13:30 - 13:45: Break

13:45 - 14:45: Session 6: Potpourri (Chair: David Yin Yang, Hamad Bin Khalifa University)

Enhanced Control Path for Repeated TCP Connections
Junho Lee, Gyeongsik Yang (Korea University), Zhixiong Niu, Peng Cheng, Yongqiang Xiong (Microsoft Research), Chuck Yoo (Korea University), and Zhixiong Niu (Microsoft Research)

Revisiting Challenges for Selective Data Protection of Real Applications
Lin Ma, Jinyan Xu, Jiadong Sun, Yajin Zhou, Xun Xie, Wenbo Shen, Rui Chang, and Kui Ren (Zhejiang University)

Neverlast: An NVM-centric Operating System for Persistent Edge Systems
Christian Eichler, Henriette Hofmeier (Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB)), Stefan Reif (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)), Timo Hönig (Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB)), Jörg Nolte (BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg), Wolfgang Schröder-Preikschat, Christian Eichler, and Henriette Hofmeier (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU))